Gettin’ in Shape

by kevenjacobs

So as you all may know, I’m attempting to get in shape.

I’m super stoked about bikini season, and I’d like to look amazing on the beach this summer. I also would like to FEEL better, which is my main goal in getting in shape. Mental health is so important, and eating right, and exercising regularly is part of maintaining your mental health. I notice a huge difference in my mood and outlook when I spend a little extra time taking care of myself.

I downloaded this app on my phone called My Fitness Pal.. I HIGHLY recommend it. You can get it for a Droid or an iPhone (have I mentioned I want an iPhone SOOO badly, but for now I’m stuck with my Droid… now back to the topic at hand).

Basically, you put in your current height and weight. I’m 5’6 and 115 lbs. Obviously, I’m already stick skinny, so I’m not trying to lose weight, I’m trying to maintain it. But you also put in your goal, and how much you exercise.

You keep a diary of what you eat, and it counts your calories FOR YOU. So simple and SUCH a good idea. The app instructed me to be eating around 1600 calories a day, which is going to be tough, considering I eat like a bird.

I made a trip to the store, and bought some healthy foods. Cereal and oatmeal for breakfast, lots of fresh fruit and vegies (ick….) and some snacks, like Cliff bars, almonds, and trail mix.

It doesn’t matter too much what I eat, considering I’m not trying to lose weight, just making sure I eat enough and healthy foods that are going to nurture my body, not work against me. AKA no more junk food on a regular basis, but luckily I can sneak it in every once in a while.

You also keep a diary of your exercise. For me, I run 3 times a week, but I should be running more.

It tells you when you should see results, and what results to expect, so there are no surprises. I’m in LOVE with this app.

Seriously. Download it. Now.

