True Beauty

by kevenjacobs

The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries or the way she combs her hair.” – Audrey Hepburn

 

While I completely agree with Audrey Hepburn on this one, there’s something satisfying about taking pride in your appearance. Beauty isn’t all about one’s outward appearance, but taking care of yourself, and taking the beauty inside yourself, and reflecting it on the outside is important too.

I think the most attractive quality in a person is their confidence, and I think it’s a good thing to know how beautiful you really are.

So, I try to take care of myself, so that I can be confident, and so that my outward appearance does reflect the person I am inside.

Today, on my day off, I’ve decided to primp. So here’s a few home remedies I use when I want to make myself a bit more radiant:

ASPIRIN & HONEY FACE MASK:

I’ve been noticing my skin hasn’t been looking too radiant lately, probably because I’ve been so lazy, and haven’t been washing my face before bed… YIKES. So I’m going to use a home remedy that I use every once in a while.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • uncoated aspirin
  • pure honey
  • water

Simple as that. So you put a few drops of water on the aspirin, so that it dissolves. Crush it up. Then warm up a few large drops of honey in the microwave, but make sure it doesn’t get too hot, because you don’t want to burn your skin…obviously.

Mix the honey with the powdered aspirin, and put the mixture on your face. Leave it for 10-15 minutes. Then rinse off.

The aspirin will clear your pores, reduce any redness you have, and act as an exfoliant to clear off any dead skin cells. The honey is moisturizing to balance out any drying out from the aspirin. Great home remedy!

TEETH WHITENING WITH BAKING SODA:

I’ve also been noticing that my teeth aren’t as white as they used to be and they could use some brightening up. I did a little research and found a home remedy with baking soda. It’s probably going to taste disgusting, but hey, sometimes beauty is painful.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • A teaspoon of baking soda
  • A pinch of salt
  • Water

First, put the baking soda and salt into a small cup. Then add a bit of water, to create a paste… sort of like toothpaste. Brush your teeth with the paste. Make sure to rinse your mouth with water.

Easy!

REMEDY FOR DULL LOOKING HAIR:

Okay, this is undoubtedly going to gross a few of you out. It’s something I only do once in a blue moon, because I ABSOLUTELY hate mayonnaise. Even on sandwiches. It’s disgusting.

But it really adds moisture to dull and dry hair.

What you’ll need:

  • Mayonnaise.

That’s it. Just take a glob of mayonnaise, lather it through clean hair, dry or damp. Leave it in for about an hour, then wash your hair thoroughly. Trust me, it might be better to wash it twice. Wouldn’t want any leftover mayonnaise in your hair. Gross.

I have noticed that whenever my hair’s looking dead, from using too much product, or straightening it on the daily, or washing it too much, that when I use this, it livens it up a bit.

 

I hope these tricks work for you, the way they work for me πŸ™‚

