Nubby Nails

by kevenjacobs

In an attempt to save some money, or be more cautious about spending all my money before I get paid again, I decided against getting my acrylics done. They really should have been filled last weekend, but I tried to ignore that, and painted them red for my pirate costume.

Tuesday morning, I went to work with them… And my coworker Joelle told me my nails looked super long/ugly, so I decided it might be time to do something about it.

I went directly home, and soaked them in acetone to get the acrylics off. Uh…. it took a long while. And in my impatience, I ended up ripping my own paper thin nail, and excuse my French, but that shit hurt.

So I sported a bandaid for a few days over the broken nail, and even went to class WITHOUT nail polish on…. I don’t remember the last time I did that. I felt nakedddd.

I painted my nails and they turned out like thisss:

This was literally right after I painted them, so excuse the excess nail polish around the actual nail. They look better after I shower anyway.

For my ring finger, I painted on clear polish, and then dipped them in gold glitter that I purchased at Sally’s. I used Sally Hansen’s Commander in Chic for the rest of my nails.

$3.99 @ Sally's

$6.49 @ Target

A lot cheaper than getting the acrylics, but a lot more work/upkeep. I’ve already had to repaint them, and because of the thinness of my nails, they keep breaking.

Which brings me to my light bulb moment: when I realized how much BETTER it would be for me to do GEL nails!

I was in class the other day, with my crippled hand (I genuinely thought about parking in a handicapped space when I couldn’t find parking that morning, but then decided that would be really messed up…so I walked three parking lots away from my class, and was about 20 minutes late), and one of the girls at my table was talking about gel nails. She told me how good it is for your nails, and showed me hers which looked amazing! She said it would help my nails get stronger, and that it flexes with you real nail, so when you get it caught on something, it doesn’t hurt like Hell, like it does with acrylics.

And the best part iss…. DRUMROLL…. she works at a salon a few miles from my house, called Pampered Pinkie, and it’s only $35 to get it done there. Uhh hello. First paycheck at the new job, guess where I’ll be!

CAN’T WAIT!

